ENDED: #OpenHeartsNotGifts Contest

11_16NOV_SocialContest_BlogHeader

UPDATE: This contest has now closed and we’ve selected and contacted the winners. We had so many heartfelt entries, and it was incredibly difficult to choose, but after much deliberation here are the winners: 

Day 1 Blog: Janet A
“It’s not just the holidays. Even though my father died over twenty years ago (and my mom, a little over 10), I miss them and think of them every day. It’s been so long that it isn’t that earth-shattering grief that just hamstrings you at first. No. But somehow that’s worse: to wake in the sunny CA morning, get your cuppa, join the crawl of traffic winding to work……and then to suddenly remember that YOU are alive and in the world and they are not. It’s worse than that gut-wrenching, empty first-grief. It’s the F O R E V E R grief….the one that hangs there at the back of your mind, that stabs at your eyes with tears that you think you have no reason for. Oh, yeah. Another day. They aren’t here. Moms and Dads. What broke-down orphans we are without them. Miss you. Love you. Want just one chance to tell you in person.”

Day 2 Facebook: Christine Dayton
“End hunger. We donate as a family to our local food bank. We give when the kids school asks and I am helping with the gathering of holiday food items for needy families in the school I work. Our country is too rich and full of food to have hungry bellies.”

Day 3 Instagram: cheapoholicmama
“This is not so much an activity but more of a tradition. My children and I wait til the first snowfall of the season to put up our Christmas tree and decorate the house. It has been this way for 4 years now and we look forward to snow every year. ”

Day 4 Twitter: Heather Masters
“I’m thankful to have our family back in good health and together for the holidays. ”

Day 5 Pinterest: Cassandra Beato
“Every winter my family makes cookies together. It’s a gift because it allows my family to become closer and have fun. I also plan to give letters to my closest friends and my family. Each letter will be unique and written special for that person :).”

Closed Contest Details for Reference:

This week you’ll have 5 chances to win $25 in Schoola credit! Every day this week, we’ll post a new question about what’s really important this season on one of our social media platforms. You’ll have 24 hours (between noon PT and noon PT the next day) to reply to the prompt and we’ll choose one winner each day. The most heartfelt answer will win.

Here’s the nitty-gritty:

Who do you wish you could see over the holidays?

Who do you wish you could see over the holidays?

The contest kicked off right here on the blogMonday, November 16., with the question: Who do you wish you could see over the holidays?

Eager to get started? Each day the contest will run on a different social media platform. Make sure you comment on the right  one. Mark your calendars for the following dates and start thinking of your reply:

  • Monday, 11/16 right here on the Schoola blog leave your entry as a comment on Monday’s post. Respond to this question: Who do you wish you could see over the holidays?
  • Tuesday, 11/17 on Facebook, leave your entry as a reply comment.
  • Wednesday, 11/18 on Instagram, leave your entry as a comment on the post with the photo.
  • Thursday, 11/19 on Twitter, tweet your entry @Schoola and use the hashtag #OpenHeartsNotGifts.
  • Friday, 11/20 on Pinterest, leave your entry as a comment on our pin.

We  know you can’t wait to dive right in, but first read these important rules:

  • The entry period for each question begins at noon PT each day and ends at noon PT the following day.
  • Make sure your answer is original–if someone else already posted your idea, share another one.
  • You can comment as much as you’d like, and you’re eligible to win more than once during the contest if we really love your entries!
  • Remember that currently Schoola only ships to the contiguous 48 United States, so although anyone is welcome to participate, the prize will only be useable in those states.
  • The Schoola team will choose the winner that best reflects Schoola’s mission and brand.
  • The winner will receive a $25 gift code. This code will not be eligible for purchasing new-with-tags items and cannot be combined with any other code.
  • We’ll contact the day’s winner within a few days of the contest’s closing by replying to you on that social media platform.

We can’t wait to see all your wonderful answers!

642 thoughts on “ENDED: #OpenHeartsNotGifts Contest

  1. This year for Christmas I would love it if I could spend it with my dad. I am 25 and have not had a Christmas with my dad since I was 6 six years old, and I do not have a mother anymore to spend it with. I’ve got two kids now also, and I know it would be pure happiness for him since his grandchildren and myself are the only family he has left.

    Like

  2. We just found my husband’s real dad this year in April. It would be great to be able to spend the holidays with him. I know he would love it. He could spend time with his grandchildren. But neither one of us have the money to travel.

    Like

  3. I would love to see my best friend who is living across the globe right now. She had been trying to move here and it will be amazing to have her finally be able to do so. We will also be blessed to have our sons be able to grow up together and become friends like we do.

    Like

  4. I have a nephew named Evan who was born this past year. He lives in WI with my brother , his wife and their other son Braeden. My niece and all my nephews live in WI so I rarely get to see them but I have made it a point to meet them all before they turned one. Unfortunately that doesn’t look like it will happen with little Evan. I have been out of work on disability for a year (i am a nurse) and was hoping to go back to work soon but was just diagnosed a few weeks ago with a heart condition that has made that not possible. I am 31 a single mom of 4 young daughters so $ is always tight, but we manage. The only thing I wanted for Christmas when Braeden was a baby was to meet him (his bday is Dec 31) and with just the last few weeks before Christmas, my whole family, mom ,sister etc decided we were taking our Christmas to WI and I was able to meet him. Evan is the only one I haven’t yet, and he soon will be one. Meeting him is the best gift and only gift I could even think to ask for. He is who I want to see over the holidays and I hope for everyone they get to see their special someone this year.

    Like

  5. I would love to spend Christmas, or any day of the holiday season, with my Dad. I lost him in 2012 and I now have an 18 month old daughter who will never get to meet him and never get to have a Christmas with him like I did.

    Like

  6. I really hope to see my mom this holiday season! She moved away years ago after having us all moved to our home now when we were kids and then moved back to where I was born! I rarely get to see her anymore and that would make my holiday season even better!

    Like

  7. This holiday season I would love to see my daughter. When I was 15 I had a baby girl who I put up for adoption I was too young to raise a child. It’s been 13 years since I lost contact with her adoptive parents.

    Like

  8. I wish we could have our entire family together this year for the Holidays. We moved to SC over the summer and none of our family live here. We are spread all over the US. The top people on the list would be my parents in WI and my husbands in IL. It would also be wonderful to see my Grandfather in IL who is 91 years old! We have 5 kids so it makes travel for us very difficult. We also have family in CA, IN, OH, PA, NY, NJ, NC, GA, MI, FL. Getting everyone together would be a wonderful feat for everyone! Happy Thanksgiving and Happy Holidays to everyone!

    Like

  9. I wish i could see my great grandma and aunt that is in illinois and i havent seen her for so many years. I would also love to see my bf in ny. ITD be really great thanks for the chance

    Like

  10. This Holiday I wish I could just have my family by my side to enjoy this Christmas season the way it should be, without needing money or having to give presents. To love each other and cherish this time together. The one person I wish could be with us this year would be my fiancés grandfather. So that he could meet his great grandchildren. I’ve heard so many wonderful stories and great things about him. I never got the chance to meet him and I would love to just be able to shake his hand and thank him for all of the love he gave my fiancé. For him to be able to hug, kiss and love my children. They would love him and I know in my heart that he is up in heaven watching over my fiancé, my three wonderful babies, and even myself. Keeping us safe and being an amazing guardian angel.

    Like

  11. I would love to see some good friends of mine who are more like family and had a big part in raising me up right I love them with all my heart but they live in Fl. and I am in Tn. now so its hard to see them as much as I want too last time I saw them was 4 year’s ago I would also love them to meet my daughter they have never met her miss them soo much just want to hug them and tell them how much I love them for all they did for us and all they keep doing

    Like

  12. This year I would love to see my sister. She just graduated from college and accepted her “dream job” across country in Arizona. I’ve got 5 kids & a tight budget, so I can’t travel out to see her. I miss her so much… I wish she could come home to New Jersey. The holidays won’t be the same without her 😦

    Like

  13. This holiday I would love to spend it with my mother. I have been gone away from my hometown since 2001 due to going to college. It was very hard leaving my mom. I am the baby of 8 children and I was spoiled. I am the only one that received a college degree in my family. I later on went to receive my masters and never returned home. I started working in my field of study and it required more hours of my life. For the past 8 years I have worked the day before and the day after each holiday. If I had one wish, it would be to spend it with her – like old times. Preparing, cooking, laughs, eating the cake bowl, and fixing up the dinner table. I just don’t want time to slip away from me, my children does not deserve this.

    Like

  14. I wish I could spend time with my mother this holiday season. I lost her when she was just 42 and I was 22. She looked forward to the holidays every year with her kids and it has been 15 years now since I last had a holiday with her presence. I wish she could be here to now make the holidays special for her grandchildren. Loved ones are what matters the most anytime of year, but are especially missed during the holiday season.

    Like

  15. I would love to see my sister and her husband and my new nephew for holidays they live in Virginia and don’t get to see them often. I would some time with my little nephew it is hard to see him grow up so far away and only get picture’s of him growing instead of experiencing him in person!

    Like

  16. Thus Christmas I would love to see world peace. I would love to see everyone except everyone for who they are. Not see people for what they look like or whom they worship. God bless and have a great day

    Like

  17. I wish to see my family in Tennessee over the holidays. We moved to Mississippi a couple years ago and we only see them maybe once a year.

    Like

  18. My husband’s mom lives in Arizona and we have only gotten to see her twice since we’ve been married because we live in Indiana. Once, on our wedding day, and the second time, when our son was born. We can’t afford to move out there, but I really hope that someday she will be able to come out and see us for Christmas. And his brother who lives with her, who I’ve only ever met once.

    Like

  19. Congress. They need a good talking to! I’d like them to see what their policies are doing to people first hand. They can come and volunteer with us over the holidays and explain to voters face to face why necessary legislation isn’t moving forward.

    Like

  20. The holidays are meant for you to spend precious time with the ones you love the most. I’d love more than anything in this world to spend the holidays with my Grandma. This will be the first holiday season without her, she passed away June 28th of this year. I know she’s in a much better place and I know she’s smiling down on us pain free. I just hope I can be with the rest of my family for the holidays since I live 300 miles away from them now.

    Like

  21. I wish i could have my family with me because they live so far (9318km) and it is so hard without they…..i have 2 kids that miss their grandparents too.It’s hard because we cannot afford airplane tickets are very expensive.only we can do is to trust in God that we will have a good situation in the future.

    Like

  22. My sister. We haven’t seen each other in 12 years! Living so far away from each other. Different continents. Saving money is hard these days…

    Like

  23. Pingback: #OpenHeartsNotGifts Contest | heavenlyfatherabove

Leave a Reply

